Its been an inspiring day! I have been drawing in the operating theatre at Papworth Hospital in Cambridgeshire, working alongside leading cardiothoracic surgeon Mr Francis (Frank) Wells. Here are some of the drawings I made during the two hour long open heart surgery procedure on a middle age woman.

I was fascinated, as always, to watch a surgeon at work, and to experience what I can only describe as the ‘undulating’ dynamics of the operating theatre as everybody present played their individual part in making sure the whole thing went as planned. The intensity of the procedure rose and fell – but gently, without obvious drama – from the initial ‘opening of the chest’ to the final closure.  The ‘craftsmanship’ involved, and the dedication to the task at hand was orchestrated throughout – or perhaps choreographed might be a better description – by the needs of the patient who lay, oblivious to the fact that her heart was for a time no longer beating naturally.

Each time I attend a surgical procedure I  deepen my understanding of why I do what I do and how much I enjoy doing it! The artist and the surgeon have much in common perhaps.

IMG_0897IMG_0898IMG_0899IMG_0900IMG_0901IMG_0905IMG_0906IMG_0907

